Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas in which the disease is detected However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations we cannot permi

The argument suggests that since the possibility of death exists as a result of routinely administering inoculations to people in areas where cow flu has been detectted, then there should be no administering of the innoculations.

To strengthen this argument, we must first ascertain by autopcies that the routine administration of the innoculations can actually lead to death and to prove such actual death casess as a result of such a person or persons recieving this innoculation must be provided. Such a cases may not suffice as there would also need to be evidence to provide a direct cause and effect relationship between the administration of the innoculation and the resultant death, the evidence must go further to state that there were no other likely causes of such death such as an existing medical condition or another disease endemic to these affected areas. The evidence must be able to isolate the cause of death top the inoculation. On the other hand if the autopsies prove or signify other factors that may have been the cause of death to these cases reviews=ed then that would cast doubt on the argument and weaken the stance on the prohibition of the inoculation.

Another evidence that may provide support for the argument would be one that proves the adverse effect of the inoculations in another area or point in time. If it is proven that the inoculations were administered to an area plagued with cow flu or a similar strain of the disease previously and lead to the death of a number of persons in that area then that would provide support for the argument. on the other hand if a better case is provided one that shows how the routione administration of the inoculations played a pivotal role in ameliorating the ravaging impact of the disease then that would severely weaken the aregument.

To further strengthin the argument, if there exists a better alternative like a vaccine or another drug that could prevent or cure the disease then there would be nop need for the routine administration of the inoculations thus supporting the argument. Conversely if there exists no other tenable alternative then the argument would be weakened as this would result to a simple cost- benefit analysis as it would have to weigh the potential number of lives to be saved by routine administration of the inoculations against the small possibility of the loss of lives. The Utilitarian argument in such a case would weigh more and thus weaken the argument that seeks to prohibit the administration of the inoculations.

Finally, in line with the need to provide tenable alternatives one must also consider the cause of the cow flu, if evidence can be provided, one that ties the causation of the disease itself to enviromental or hygene factors in the areas affected by cow flu then rather than see inoculations as the panacea for the disease whjy not treat these other factors that would likely eradicate the disease thus eliminating any possiblitity of death. This would strengthen the argument in that it would invalidate the need to routinely administer the inoculations but give rise rather to other alternatives .