All too often companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to the employees, sych consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent at which you agree or disagree these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations share your opinions.

Operational Efficiency has always been key to improving the profitability of businesses and a key factor in building business competitive advantage. Competing effectively is key and thus companies must be able to maximize the utilization of their resources. In order to achieve the aforementioned companies must rely on the decision of management and those at the helm to make the best strategic decisions for the firm. Decisions however are not made in vacuum, companies must rely either on their own employees or external consultants to help decern their challenges and proffer solutions. I am of the opinion that hiring outside consultants to abet improvement in organisational efficiency would be better than companies relying on their employees. Though employees may have better first hand knowledge of the firm and its operations, external consultants provide for more objectivity, expertise and an out of the box perspective.

In order to improve the operational efficiency of a firm, one must consider the type of decisions that would be made, these decisions may range from cutting budgets to laying off staff. The decisions may be what enables the company best achieve its potential but may as well adversely affect certain employees in certain roles. It is therefore important that objectivity is maintained in the process. In order to mitigate against such likely conflicts of interest, it would be better for companies to hire external consultants who would prioritize the interest of the company. In order to drive home this point let us consider this illustration "in order for company A to improve its operations, it w=may be best for the company to cut a pargticular product line or branch, if however the line or branch manager is consulted for his best posible solution, he may be unable to profer the truncation of his branch or line for fear of losing his Job”.

A key factor to also consider is the expertise required. Employees are trained to do a particular job or funtion specifically in a role or position while consultants are trained and earn from the job of consulting, thus the consultants approach to thinking and problem solving is more wholistic. The consultants as a result of his work and experience would have better methodologies, skills and techniques to help solve a business problem. While an employee may have better first hand knowledge as a result of his daily engagement in the activities, he may however have a limited understanding of the greater picture. An accountant may understand the books of a company very well but may not understand the technicalities of running the day to day operations, however a consultant would be able to analyse both departments and profer a more wholistic solution.

Employees may have insights and an adept perspective of the business enabling them understand better the intricacies of the business and as a result of this develop a tunnel vision where he is only able to analyse the business from within the business. This may work for the company as employees relate with the clients better and all but Consultants bring a fresher perspective one where they see the business and are able to analyse from outside in. Consultants ar able to leverage on the data from employees thus nullifying the insights argument.

Although employees may have a better first hand knowledge of a business, Outside consultants provide a better strategic option as their objectivity, expertise, methods and perspectives would help business make better choices to improve thier operational efficiency.