Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations we cannot permit i

The argument that cow flu inoculations should not be administered due to the risks they carry may seem logical at first glance. However, the author provides unreasonable claims and connections about what a vaccine entails. Therefore, the arguement is flawed and unconvincing.

First, the writer assumes cow flu vaccines are particular due to the fact that they cause death. This assumption is flawed because almost all medical procedures carries their own risks. Minor procedures, surgeries, and even the seasonal flu vaccine carries the risk of death, though it may be small. This small risk of death however, does not prevent these life-changing practices from continuing daily at all medical facilities. It is not reasonable to halt cow flu inoculations on the sole basis that they may be lethal.

Additionally, the writer illogically concludes that the risk of death by the cow flu vaccine outweighs the number of lives that can be saved. As history has shown, the vaccine has always been worth the risks they brought along. Smallpox, for example, used to be feared as a deadly disease that plagued early U.S. civilization. It was not until Edward Jenner disocovered the vaccine for smallpox that many lives began to be saved. Although there had been some reports of death due to the vaccine, the eventual result was practically nation-wide immunity. To assume the risks of the cow flu vaccine outweight its benefits is illogical due to the countless lives that can inevitably be saved.

The argument that the cow flu vaccine should not be routinely administered due to its risk of death would be strengthened by evidence that supports that fact that the vaccine has directly caused death. Providing research or studies that show a causal relationship between the vaccine and fatality would provide more weight to the vaccine's risk of death. In doing so, the author would be able to provide a more founded argument on why the cow flu vaccine should not be routinely administered.

Overall, the author is not necessarily mistaken in discussing the significant of the cow flu vaccine's risk of death, as that is an issue that is always seriously assessed in any medical process. However, to assume that the cow flu vaccine is particular in its risk of death and that same risk outweighs its benefits compared to any other medical procedure is unfounded. In order to strengthen the argument against the vaccine, the author would have to show additional information/research that supports a more correlative relationship between this specific vaccine and death. Otherwise, it is not reasonable to argue against the vaccine due to its claimed risk of death.