Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that because there is a small chance that one who is vaccinated against the cow flu may die, we are unable to routinely administer inoculations against the cow flu, though many lives, where the disease is present, can be saved. This argument frightens and appeals to the people who fear death. However, when looking at this argument from a logical perspective, the argument lacks crucial evidence that can strengthen or weaken their decision to forbid routine inoculations.

To begin, the phrase “small possibility” is too vague. In order to evaluate this argument truthfully, numbers and percentages are needed. Without any numbers and by simply using adjectives to describe a size, the argument is subjective. The word “small” can mean .02% to some and 35% to others. The author needs to use specific statistics from a governmental source or from a medical journal. The specific demographic information can strengthened the argument. Without statistics, the readers would question the whole argument, as they would wonder where the author is getting his/her information if they do not have raw data.

Secondly, the author assumes the repercussions from the vaccination are far worse than the disease itself because a select few might die from the inoculations. This would mean that people infected the cow flu do not necessarily die, as they cannot risk to give people the vaccination. However, this would contradict the author’s argument, as it states “many lives might be saved.” Nonetheless, with this understanding, there is a difference between administering the inoculations and developing a disease, as one is active and one is passive. Furthermore, the author is under the understanding that the disease is contagious and all people within that area are susceptible to the cow flu without the inoculation, as he would administer the vaccine to everyone in that area. The author should specify the symptoms and the effects of the disease without the inoculation in order to create a complete and truthful argument. However, the author does not pose any evidence for this, which would be helpful to strengthen his argument.

To conclude, the author tries to argue that because a select few who receive the cow flu vaccination have a slight chance of death, the inoculation cannot be routinely administered, even though the vaccine can save many lives. Without specific statistics and information about the disease, this argument does not embody validity.