"Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas in which the disease is detected.However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations,we cannot perm

The argument expressed therein seems, in my opinion, extremely vague and, thus, some aspects of it should be gingerly discussed before taking part in any of the possible positions that could exist.

Health issues and diseases are considered to be one of the most dangerous problems since the very beginning of human existence. In this regard, it could be easily noted that most of the revolutionary inventions and developments that had occurred through history are related with the relentless interest in improving health conditions. Hence, one of the most important developments has been the creation of the inoculation, as a measure that could prevent people from suddenly dying. The results have always been successful, since they have saved plenty of lives from deaths. Many people argue however, that several risks are related with inoculations, and, thus, could be counterproductive. This is the author position. Conversely to this idea, I truly believe that this assumption is unsound and could be extremely dangerous if taking it into consideration.

First of all, the text lacks strong evidence to support that the number of deceased people due to inoculation risks is bigger than the one related with the cow flu. For example, it could be true that during this decade five people in the world have died after taking an inoculation. However, if the number of peopled affected by the cow flu were one hundred times bigger than the number of people affected by inoculations, it could be extremely irresponsible to deny these patients a vaccine, which could save them from dying. Furthermore, it should never be forgotten the fact that every disease in the world carries side effects but are approved by public organizations to be used, despite its problems. Thus, it could be inferred that the side effects of the vaccine are not as dangerous as denying their use.

Another aspect that the text avoids to address is why inoculations must be “routinely administered to all people”. On the one hand, there’s no evidence to support this fact, which is used as a counter-argument. It could be possible that some groups of population weren’t recommended to take the inoculation, since they are, for example, allergic. In this regard, it could be as well possible to believe that these deceases provoked by inoculations could have happened to these population groups that weren’t supposed the have the vaccine administered, but who eventually had it. To sum up, much more evidence would be necessary to consider plausible the analogous relation between inoculation and death risk.

Furthermore, even if one person would have side effects after taking an inoculation, the text doesn’t explain if there could be any possible solution to save these people from death. Thus, it could be considered a fallacy the analogous, direct, and unavoidable relation between taking an inoculation and consequently dying, without any possible solution to lessen these side effects.

Because of all the abovementioned reasons herein, I believe that the author falls into many weak assumptions, which should be way more complex to be considered sound. As this doesn’t happen, it could have extremely dangerous consequences for society to deprive cow flu patients from an inoculation that could save them from death, since this decision is also opposite to what medicine should be: a space, in which lives matter the most.