A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

I have always found extremely important to define a same national curriculum until college, as I believe this system is penchant for a democratic way of understanding education . In this regard, a same national curriculum contributes to create equal opportunities to every inhabitant, with independence of their region and the political climate reigning there.

First of all, it must be noted that implementing the same curriculum in every region or state renders quite a lot of advantages. For example, if the same curriculum were applied, applications for universities would be easier to examine, since every student would have studied the same subjects, and the same contents. Moreover, since every student would have learnt the same contents, Universities would know what level students have and, thus, could adapt better their curriculums to the student knowledge level. This way, the typical clichés about the cultural disparities between regions would disappear, in the extent that sometimes it is assumed that in some regions students find it easier to get an A, than in others.

Second of all, adopting the same curriculum enables States to create an educational system, which works with independence of the political climate that reigns in every state. For a long time, right-wing, religious states (as, for example, Texas) in the U.S. have had a strong debate about the possibility of deleting science subjects from their curriculums, as these subjects offer an agnostic point of view of the world in which we live and the origins of it. In this sense, I do believe that using the educational system as a political tool ends up being dangerous for the critical reasoning of their inhabitants and, in order to avoid this, a would measure would be to to offer the same curriculum. Let me illustrate this also with the conflict in Catalonia, Spain, where I'm from. Since the reimplementation of democracy in our country, the educational curriculum until college had differed from one region to another. Because of that, pro-independency Catalonian governments have used the educational system to indoctrinate children, enabling schools to offer only courses in Catalan and imparting History courses, which changed the natural curse of History in order to create, little by little, more citizens penchant for independency and the total separation from the Spanish State. In my opinion, this critic situation could have been solved if the educational curriculum would have been implemented, creating, this way, a more coherent and cohesive system.

To sum up, I truly believe in the importance of implementing the same national curriculum, as this system favors every citizen, creating, hence, a democratic educational system.