Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

In the argument above, the author is suggesting inoculations cannot be used due to the fact that there is a small possibility one may die after the administration. I find such argument is not logically convicting since the author is lacking the evidence to support his or hers argument and reach conclusion based on too many unproved assumptions.

some may argue that if someone really died because of the inoculations, then we are basically murdering people, and that is why we cannot release the inoculations until is 100 percent safe and sound. However, I think the potential benefits for the inoculations are totally outweighed the “small possibility” of side effects. first of all, author did not provide sufficient statistical evidences to support the conclusion that how small of the possibility that a person will die from the administration. is it 1 in 100 people would suffer death as a consequence or 1 in 100,000? As a result, we cannot assess the inoculation accurately, thereby do not have enough information to conclude whether the inoculation should or should not be released to the public.

Moreover, In today’s medical world, numerous new drugs have been developed every day and none of them are perfect, so to speak. At the same time, all these imperfect drugs have approved by FDA for the same reason – the benefits of the drug is way more important to us. Not to mention, the disease we are talking about here is cow flu, which is deadly and at the same time, extremely contagious. since, the author did not mention if there were alternative method to treat cow flu. if we cannot release the inoculations for the people who needed them. many more people will die from the disease itself. While when they carry the disease, some of them may travel to different places for any reason. we are risking a potential worldly spread for something was totally preventable in the first place.

Another aspect that author failed to disclose is why the inoculations need to be routinely administered. is the quality of the inoculation is not good enough yet? is this inoculation just a temporary one? if the inoculation was just a temporary solution indeed, is that the cause of a small possibility of death? we also do not know how often the inoculations should be routinely administered, and how many time should one be administered in total? if one needs to be administered once a week in order for the inoculation to be effective, then obviously it would increase the chance of death statistically speaking.

With so many unanswered questions, I cannot take the same position as the author did. I believe the argument will be significantly strengthen if author introduced some statistical data to support his or hers conclusion. such as data that relate to the percentage of people who are died due to the inoculation. new advancements in the medical field have saved millions of lives, but without sounding evidence to support the theories or new drugs, in medical world would fall into chaos. that is why I have to suggest that the author does not have enough evidence to support his or hers argument above, thereby invalid.