Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The ethics of vaccines are complex and efforts to oversimplify the issues do not benefit anyone except talking heads and social media figures. Some of the tensions which we find at the very core of our democratic society are found here: personal autonomy, the good of the individual versus the good of the whole and weighing the risks of potential harm and benefits. With the deep commitment to personal liberty of the United States, when can a person be forced to violate their conscience for the good of society and how compelling must that broader good be? If our civilization is based on balancing the needs of the majority, while respecting the rights of the minority, how can these be evaluated when the identity of the minority cannot be known until the damage is done? In a society that, as the founding fathers planned, would sooner see one thousand criminals freed than one innocent imprisoned, how do we evaluate the risk of harm caused by an inoculation against the herd immunity promised by high levels of compliance? Kant argued for utilitarianism, the greatest good for the greatest number, but American culture cries out for restraints on this kind of cold calculation. Yet historical realities like the story of Typhoid Mary, who through no fault of her own carried a plague to those around her and was quarantined against her will, remind us that sometimes hard choices must be made. To make a policy decision in the specific case of bovine influenza requires a quantification of the risks of each course and some sociological and biological study into possible alternative courses of action.

Statisticians work from a concept of "expected return," where the cost of something is compared to the various outcomes, weighted by their probability. The expected return of winning the lottery is almost always negative, because the prize of winning a five-hundred million dollar jackpot multiplied by the infinitesimal chance of success is less than the cost of a ticket. In the case of gambling it is obvious that this has to be the case, or Warren Buffet and Jeff Bezos might simply take turns buying one of each ticket to be sure of victory, and then collecting their winnings; on average, the house has to win. To evaluate whether or not routine cow flu vaccination is wise, the two sides of the equation must be calculated. Most simply, how many people will die if the cow flu vaccine is not routinely administered, and how many will die if it is? This is a good starting point, but is inadequate. Other, sub-lethal, ramifications must also be considered. How many will suffer permanent lung damage from cow flu, compared to how many will suffer some kind of ongoing injury from the inoculation? Weighing each of these factors is far from simple (is asthma 10% as bad as death? .10%?), but weighing the risks and benefits is inescapable. If the costs of routine vaccination are worse than the benefits, then there is no need to investigate further. If the benefits seem to substantially outweigh the risks, such as saving a thousand lives with the expected loss of ten, there is good reason to investigate further.

Deeper inquiry is needed, because mathematical expectation alone does not tell the full story. Suppose that someone came to me with a fair coin, and offered my $3 if I guessed the flip correctly, while I would pay $2.50 if I guessed incorrectly. I would be happy to play - the odds are in my favor. I would probably play for $30 versus $25, or maybe even $300 against $250. But if a middle class family is offered a coin flip, where they lose their $250,000 home if the coin lands "tails" and gain $300,000 if it lands "heads," they would be foolish to take it, even though the mathematical odds are in their favor. The risk is too great and the alternatives for recovering from a loss are few. In the same way working parents take out life insurance, with the full knowledge that the actuarial tables are in favor of the insurance company, because their children have no alternative means of support in the event of their death. When evaluating the possibility of routine cow flu inoculation, there is a pressing need to consider other options. If the benefits of inoculation outweigh the risks, but there is another - even better - path, that must be taken into account. Can education on hygiene and temporary quarantines be both medically effective and practically enforced? Evaluating how people would comply with these kinds of strategies, as well as compliance with potential routine vaccinations, can either make a policy feasible, or useless. If so, policy makers have a responsibility to pursue the path of least harm. The research needed here is broad sweeping, because the ramifications stretch down through future generations. Perhaps, like polio, a cow flu vaccine universally administered would be risky in this generation, but in a few generations would completely eliminate the illness and eliminate all risks. Weighing benefits to unknown future generations against costs now is difficult, but the evidence must be considered.

It is hard to make good decisions about truly complex systems. But to evaluate whether or not cow flu vaccines should be routine requires objective evidence. Until the pros and cons and their respective probabilities can be weighed, it is impossible to arrive at a good decision, and no policymaker should create a false dilemma, where other options are not considered.