Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The basic reasoning of the argument is weak as it lacks in lot of areas because of numerous inconclusive assumptions leading to overall weak argument. Author suggests that routine administration of inoculations against cow flu in areas where disease is detected would help save many lives. He further states that the probability of death of a person as a result of inoculation is small but likely, so inoculations should not be permitted to be routinely administered.

Author's argument lacks basic evidence as what is the probability of people affected with cow flu not dying. If the possibility of a person not dying due to infection with cow flu is higher than the probability of person dying after inoculation against cow flu than it would make much more sense to not go for inoculation, otherwise inoculation against cow flu would be a better option at least basis the mathematical probability of saving a life. The argument would be strengthened once a higher clarity on statistical possibilities of person dying or not dying due to infection with cow flu in the areas where disease is detected is cogently presented.

Moreover, the clarity in the evidence on the possibility of person dying due to inoculation in the region of disease existing is not discussed at all. This leaves a fundamental gap whether considering the probabilistic fact of death by inoculation is itself worth being considered for taking decision against permitting inoculation for routine administration. The argument is quite undermined in its natural form and would get strong basis this evidence too.

Lastly, the basic argument of saving lives if inoculations were routinely administered need to be assessed. In case the routine administration of inoculation provides low possibility of saving lives then the conclusion of the argument would be correct but it might be the case that the conclusion would be basis this evidence, which would help strengthen the argument.

In conclusion, the argument lacks several evidences and leaves it quite weak in its current form. Identifying facts on probability of person dying due to cow flu, possibility of person dying due to inoculation in the region of disease and probability of saving lives if inoculations were routinely administered need to be established and quoted. These assumptions would be needed to strengthen the argument which in its current form is quite weak and wanting for additional evidences.