"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course.

The director recommends president of a publishing company to take a speed-reading course arguing that the course will increase productivity of the employees. The reasons argument provides are unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the recommender mentions that other companies have improved the performance of their employees by having them to take the Easy Read Speed-Reading test. It could be the case that the reading speed of the employees of those companies was terrible earlier and that's why they are able to be quicker in reading after taking the course. However, the director fails to mention the current reading speed of Acme's employees. If the reading speed of Acme's employees is already good enough, Acme might not be able to benefit from the course.

Secondly, the recommender builds upon his argument by giving example of two graduates of the course who according to him, improved in one way or the other. First graduate was able to read 500 pages in two hours. The argument does not mention whether this graduate was able to read with this speed before taking the test as well. If this graduate's reading speed was already quite high, the course high not have any contribution in his reading-speed. Event if the course did improve the graduates reading-speed substantially, it does not imply that the employees of acme can benefit from it. The productivity of employees might be because of their attitude of procrastination than their speed of reading. In the example of second graduate, the journey from assistant manager to vice president doesn't only require reading speedily. Promotion to higher ranks in the job also depend on the interpersonal and managerial skills of the individual as well as their determination and hard-work. Had the argument showed that the promotion of the assistant manager was hampered because of low reading speed, which was sufficiently improved after the course, the argument might have been strengthened.

Thirdly, the course costs $500 per employee. The recommender fails to account for the number of employees in the company. IF the company is huge with thousands of employees, the course would cost the company an arm and a leg.

All in all, the argument is rife with assumptions and therefore stays unsubstantiated and open to debate. The argument could have been strengthened if the arguer could provide specific details supporting his conclusion.