“The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.” Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Condoning a wrong act is equivalent to accepting it as a felicitous action. Certainly, if someone fails to acknowledge his/her bad actions, he, with all certainty, is likely to keep repeating unacceptable deeds. Silence, surely, is not a way to tackle negative behavior of people. The appropriate way to deal with bad actions of others is to sit them down and explain why some action is wrong and what they can do to fix it, e.g., acknowledge the wrong they did. This way of dealing with the issue is very efficacious specially when we are dealing with kids, however in some cases, the negative actions are more deleterious, for instance robbery, burglary, or killing. Such acts call for serious consequences, and punishments or penalties should be imposed on the guilty.

In order to corroborate my stance, let’s take example of kids. School going kids often cause grave issues both for parents and teachers. They get into fights with their classmates, behave disrespectfully towards their elders, some even go to the extent of watching adult content on the internet and do drugs. All of these issues cannot be addressed by staying “silent” on the issue. If anything, this response is going to make things worse. For instance, my nephew once got into a quarrel with his friend and punched his face because his classmate broke his pencil. After the incidence, my brother talked to my nephew and explained him why his action was really bad and how he affected the lives of people around him. He took his son to the school the next day and asked his son to apologize for his actions. By doing this exercise, my nephew not only learned to reflect back on his actions but also tried to fix it. If my brother had just ignored his kid’s behavior, he would have no shame in hitting his classmates, and would have considered his act plausible.

There’s no doubt that perpetual carping and castigating is not a tool to modify behavior of recalcitrant kids. Children should be treated gently. Addressing a negative action does not always have to involve punishment. However, many socially and constitutionally unacceptable behavior cannot be mitigated by mere ignorance or apology, there must be some penalty involved. Traffic laws for instance impose fine on people who violate traffic rules. It is of the fear of penalty that makes drivers follow the law and helps in reducing road accidents. Same follows for more severe crimes. For instance, if courts stop punishing the guilty, the murderer, the rapist, and the whole system of justice and execution is rolled back, the whole world will turn into a battlefield.

Appreciating good acts is a viable strategy for the promotion of virtuous behavior and general encouragement. However, it cannot undermine the requisite for genuine feedback about prudent acts. Humans learn from mistakes. If there are no mistakes, or none that one can identify himself, he is unlikely to introspect and improve. For instance, if some kid is solving a math problem, and he makes the same mistake over and over again, and his teacher does not point out his mistakes, he is not going to learn anything.

To conclude, appreciation of good acts is as momentous as acknowledgement of the wrong. All laws revolve around this phenomenon. IF someone points out our mistakes, it not only helps us in abstaining from doing it again, but also helps us in reshaping our behavior. The only challenge is to figure out how much penalty, if any, is to be imposed for violation of certain rules.