The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets.

The argument that the market of luxury goods will be the first to decline and therefore luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain important assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that due to the fact that luxury items are non-essential, its market would plummet, yet fails to provide necessary details about the target market for luxury items.

Secondly, the argument never addresses other lower-priced goods that are non-essential that might be affected by the decline in the market situation, even if the market for luxury goods is on the decrease.

Finally, even supposing there is reduction in circulation of funds, this does not essentially necessitate retailers to shift their focus to lower-priced goods, as target market for luxury goods are usually the affluent of the populace.

Hence, the argument is not completely logical. The evidence that support the conclusion that luxury goods being non-essential items would consequentially bring about a decline in its market does little to prove the conclusion, since it fails to address the already raised assumptions. Ultimately, the argument might be strengthened if the author could have been more specific about the luxury goods in which the target market encompasses both the affluent and the average class in the entire populace. Also, the author could have been more specific about the types of lower-priced products retailers of luxury items should refocus their attention even if there is a possibility of a decline in the market for luxury items.