The powerful are respected not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it

Are the powerful actually respected when they refrain from exercising their power? Although one might argue that choosing not to exercise one’s power accords respect from others, the powerful are indeed respected when they exercise their power. It is clear that, the powerful are respected more when they put their power in full exercise. This is because, their dignity and honor are well maintained, even they are well venerated when they exercise their power in any situation that demands for it.

Some might argue that, refraining from exercising power accords more respect for those in the leadership position when their members fall short of what is expected. A worker in an organization guilty of some inadequacies in the workplace, exonerated of his guilt by his boss would pave more opportunities for the worker to continuously indulge in several other unseemly acts since he can always be absolved of his guilt. But penalizing the worker in the first instance would deter him from violating the regulations in place, indirectly respecting the boss.

Now consider a scenario exercising power initiated respect for the powerful. The civil war that occurred in the country Nigeria between the year 1963-1970 was led by a movement of some tribes in the southern part of the country. They clamored for a separation from the country, keen on having their own distinct nation. The head of state at the time, Gen. Yakubu Gowon mollified the tension instigated by this group; stopping all allocations directed to that part of the country. This drastic measure brought an end to the chaos, as people from that region had less resources to live on, they had no choice but to submit to the authority. This exercise of power by Gen. Yakubu Gowon reunited the country, it was celebrated by all up till the present day. In this situation, Gen. Yakubu’s action played a very crucial role in preserving the nation’s value as well accord respect from the citizens, refraining from exercising his power as a leader could have led to an unrepairable damage.

In conclusion, with the evidence put forward it is quite clear that the powerful are mostly respected when they exercise their power than when they refrain from doing so.