Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the passage talks about the fitness level of corpora’s citizens. The author in his argument makes a number of assumption which he believes could have led to the decline of number of fit people in the area.

Firstly, the author states that the number of fit people in the region has dropped from ½ to 1/4th.But the argument doesn’t speak about immigration. It very well could be the case where people with poor health could have migrated into the country. It could also be the case where physical fit people could have left the country.

The author also states that the experts are wrong with their assumption of considering time spent on using computers being the reason behind the drop in health. He backs his claim by stating that the fitness levels are high in the region where computer ownership levels are high. Now computer ownership does not necessarily mean high computer usage. People in the region owning computers might not necessarily be using it as much.

The author then states that the decline in usage of fitness products is the reason why there has been a sudden drop in fitness levels and he ties the low expenditure on these products to the poor economy. Low expenditure on fitness products could not necessarily be because of bad economy. It could be because of lack of awareness of these products among the people of that region and also the author directly correlates fitness to the use of fitness products. Using fitness products is not necessarily the only way to stay fit.

So to sum it up the author has made a couple of assumption’s in the argument and has right out jumped to conclusion’s. the author has failed to provide necessary evidence on various occasions in the argument. Which inturn seriously weakened his conclusion.