The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the statement, the author argues that the fitness levels will improved when the economy does. To bolster this, the author mentions that levels of computer ownership will not influence to the citizens fitness level. however, the argument is tenuous in several aspect and the evidences used are not enough to justify a causal relationship between the performance of economy and the fitness level.

The author mentions that some medical experts state that currently only one-quoter of corpora’s citizens meet the standards for adequate physical fitness, whereas twenty years ago one-half of the citizens met the standards. however, the base number of citizens is not provided. it is possible that twenty years ago, there were only 10000 people living in corpora, and now the population has increased ten times. thus, the datas are incomparable. also, the author unfairly assumes that those experts are reliable. it is possible that the data presented by the experts are not reflective of the actual situation and maybe the survey used to collect the data are poorly designed thus lead to a unrepresentative results.

it is stated by the author that fitness levels are highest in regions of corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest. however, the author groundlessly assume that there are no other factor that contribute to the high level of fitness in those places. it is possible that there are a lot of parks located in those places, which provides more spaces for the citizens to workout and exercise. it is also possible that citizens living in those areas are all athletes, so their fitness levels are above average.

there is also a hidden assumption that decline in economy is associated with low level of fitness. even if the usage of computer will not influence the physical fitness level, it does not mean that there is an absolute relationship between economy and fitness. it is possible the decline in fitness level observed when economy is poor is only a coincidence. also, the author unreasonably assume that the spending on fitness-related product is an indicator of economy performance. Perhaps, the low expenditures on products and services for fitness is caused by increased in spending on other things such as travel, shopping on clothes. even if the economy is actually going through depression, it is possible that the low level of fitness is merely a coincidence.

In sum, the author’s argument is logically flawed and the evidence used to support the statement are also groundless and feeble. To strength it, the author should conduct a deep and comprehensive survey to substantiate the relationship between economic activity and citizen’s fitness level.