Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

The writer argues that a diet-rich in diary products, which are essentials for building and maintaining bones increases the risk of osteoporosis rather than prevent the disease as said by many people since osteoporosis is a disease linked with weakening of bones. The argument lacks representative sampling and quantification.

The claim about a long term study of a large number of people is an unrepresentative sample. A study ought to have a control group and a representative sample. What group of people did the study capture? Perhaps very old people in the prime of their lives and had not been eating food rich in diary products since their youth. Since the disease weaken the bones with age, their bones were probably already weakened. Younger people who take diets rich in diary products are likely not to be at risk of osteoporosis. Also, the duration of study is required to add substance to the claim.

Additionally, the term "the large number of people" is vague and lacks quantification. A large number could be 100, 200, 1000. The number of people was not qualified to give evidence to the argument. These large number of people in the study are said to have higher rate of bone fractures than any other participant in the study. This statement is a confusing one as it does not elaborate on who were other participants in the study.

Moreover, there was another disease apart from osteoporosis that causes bone fracture. Perhaps the people sampled might have reached an advanced stage of the disease such that eating food rich in diary products is superfluous.

The writer's argument is based on unjustified assumptions and vague terms. In order to strengthen this argument, ore evidence is required on the the type of groups and number of people sampled in the study and the duration of study.