Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership

The claim asserts that leaders in power in any enterprise should step down after five years because new leadership ensures success of the enterprise. I agree with this claim to a large extent.

Most Leaders particularly in politics and government tend to be corrupt and embezzle public funds when they stay too long in power. And as such, try to remain in power at all cost to the detriment of the society / the people they govern. For example, Idi Amin who was a former military President of Uganda that ruled for 8 years. During his tenure, he was a tyrant, corrupt and lived a lavish lifestyle. Under his authority, the Ugandan economy declined and became a poor country.

New leadership brings in opportunity for innovations and new ideas. No wonder most democratic countries allows a President to rule for 4 years and can only be re-elected to power for not more than another 4 years. Countries like the United States have used this periodic change of power to usher in new ideas in a changing world.

However, most business owners lead their companies for over five years and consistently improved their businesses. Bill Gates of Microsoft and Steve Jobs of Apple. These leaders have consistently improved their businesses for over five years with innovations. Such Business owners are passionate about their business development and the decision to step down is theirs. In most businesses, the leadership change of power is usually based on several others factors, not necessary a routine change of power.

In summary, leaders , especially in politics and government should step down after five years because the surest path to success for these enterprise is revitalization through new leadership. However, this claim does not necessarily hold true for leaders in business especially business owners.