Muscle Man Gym wants to increase women member enrollment. The percentage of women who have monthly memberships is currently only 20%. In order to increase the number of women members, Muscle Man Gym should buy more cardiovascular equipment, because women like to use cardio machines. They should also advertise with pictures of body building women and should lower prices for women members. These methods will increase the number of women members, and will increase profits.

How would you rate the accuracy of the above statement? Support your position with reasons and examples.

The author of the argument concludes that if Muscle Man Gym would buy more cardiovascular equipment, advertise with pictures of body building women and lower prices for women members, then number of women members will increase and profits will also increase. But, there are several flaws in the argument which makes the argument a weaker argument. Several assumptions made by the author are given below.

Firstly, the author assumes that more women members will join the Muscle Man Gym just by some methods like buying more cardiovascular equipment, advertise with pictures of body building women and lower prices for women members. The author assumes that women will not consider the name of the gym that says "Muscle Man Gym" while joining the gym. If the name of the gym itself emphasizes men, no female will be interested in joining that gym. They will think that it is a gym for men. So, the author's conclusion would be seriously weakened if the name of the gym is not considered to increase women members.

To add on, another flaw in the argument is that the author states that women members will increase by lowering the price for women members. Then, the author also concludes that profits will also increase with increase in women members. If discounts are given to women members, it will obviously result in loss if number of women member increases. So, the author's conclusion is flawed that profits will increase if women members are increased. Instead, it might be possible that Muscle Man Gym could be in loss due to providing huge discounts to women members.

To sum up, the author assumes that advertising pictures of body building women will increase women members in the gym. This assumption can strengthen or weaken the conclusion of the author's argument. It might be possible that many women want to join the gym just for being fit and not body building, then advertising pictures of body building women will be of no use to the gym. It will not increase women members in the gym. So, it proves the author's conclusion wrong. But, if the situation is different and most women want to join the gym for body building, then the author's conclusion could be strengthened.

So, if the author provides some more information about the name of the gym, feasibility of discounts given to women members and interests of most women to join the gym, then the argument will be more stronger and convincing. But, the author has many flaws in the argument and reaches to the conclusion by considering various assumptions. Therefore, the argument by the author is not a persuasive argument. Hence, I remain unconvinced.