Muscle Monthly, a fitness magazine that regularly features pictures of

bodybuilders using state-of-the-art exercise machines, frequently sells out,

according to the owner of Sky view Newsstand. To help maximize fitness levels

in our town’s residents, we should, therefore, equip our new community fitness

center with such machines.”

In this argument the author concludes that the new fitness community should be equipped by the latest released fitness machines in order to raise the level of fitness among residents. He gives credence to this conclusion by indicating that the level of sale of the muscle magazine has been maximized by advertising state of the art fitness machines with the pictures of bodybuilders. This conclusion is problematic for three critical reasons.

First, the author uses some irrelevant evidence for concluding his argument. He believes that the increase in the level of muscle magazine circulation is a relevant issue for resulting that the fitness community is in the need of new and advanced equipment for the citizens and the budget of the city should be allocated for these facilities. Although these events might come after each other, there is no causal relationship between them.

In addition, if we considered the rise of magazine sale the relevant issue in residents’ point of interest, it could not be concluded that they need the new equipment for exercising. In fact there are some other factors which could influence this event. For example, people like the reading and watching the pictures of the bodybuilders and related issues in this magazine while they do not want to exercise themselves with the equipments in the pictures.

The last critical point is the ambiguous and vague picture of the population of this city. The argument lacks the information about the attributes of the residents such as gender, age, education or even their jobs. These are vital factors in deciding for this issue. If all residents are middle-aged, the equipments of the fitness community would not be so important for them. In fact they all tend to do exercise for the aim of health and not for the aim of building their body like theses bodybuilders.

In conclusion, the author’s chain of reasoning is not convincing. To strengthen the claim the author should provide evidences in three 3 different aspects which are mentioned above. He should use some supporting evidences in regards to the causal relationship between the sale volumes of the magazine and equipping the fitness community. Moreover, indicating the various attributes of the population of the city helps the author in order to persuade the readers of the argument.