Over the past decade, the price per pound of citrus fruit has increased

substantially. Eleven years ago, Megamart charged 5 cents apiece for lemons,

but today it commonly charges over 30 cents apiece. In only one of these last

eleven years was the weather unfavorable for growing citrus crops. Evidently,

then, citrus growers have been responsible for the excessive increase in the

price of citrus fruit, and strict pricing regulations are needed to prevent them from

continuing to inflate prices.”

In this argument the author propose that the government should legislate some strict regulations towards the citrus pricing. He gives credence to his conclusion by mentioning that over the past decade the price of citrus have been grows substantially while the weather condition was bad in just one of these years. So the citrus growers are responsible for this increase. This argument is problematic because of two critical reasons.

First and foremost, the author overlooks the other factors which would influence the citrus pricing. He suffocates just the weather condition that was desirable except in one year, while the other factors such as the demand in market or the export of citrus fruit to other countries could influence this growth in price directly. For example when the population growth rate is greater than the citrus growing rate the result would be the significant increase in the price of citrus. The other example would be the decrease in the farmers of citrus fruit; it might be possible that after the year with the unfavorable weather many of the farmers change the crops they used to grow.

However, the author uses some convincing evidences in order to support his suggestion; he uses some examples which could not be generalized for all kinds of citrus fruit. In the argument he indicates the rise in price of just lemon and he does not provide any further information about the growth in the other kinds of this fruit.

In conclusion, the line of reasoning in this argument is not strongly convincing. To strengthen the argument, the author should use some consider all dimensions of this event which have resulted into the significant increase in price. In addition, he should mention some examples of the prices of all kinds of citrus not just lemon.