n

The letter to the editor seems at first glance extremely flawed in several points. In fact, the argumentation proposed in support of the thesis does not appears to be cogent, weaking the quality of the article as a whole.

In particular, among the several illogical argumentations, it is not clear which are the bases to affirm that without the construction of the road, the biodiversity and a healthy envirorment would be preserved.

First, the "ancient records" mentioned at the beginning, around which the argumentation of the declining population of groundhog is builded, might not be correct. In fact, it is not clear at which age the records refers to and indeed, it is highly probable that the nuber enounced might not be correct as the technology and the math used to arrive at that number might be old and hence not accurate.

Second, the fact that the neighboring city of Estern Carpenteira showed a strong decline in the population of the animals since the repeal of the status of sancturary, might not necessary mean that this will certainly happen also at West Lansburg. In fact, there might be several reasons not analysed in the argumentation, that might be responsible for the decrease. Maybe, some extreme athmosferic upheval have affected the area, and certainly this has nothing to do with the repeal of the status.

Moreover, even though a road might be built along the edge of wetlands, this does not necessarly involve the fact that the street will be travelled by people; besides, the road does not necessalry be covered with asphalt so that the healthy evirorment is not damaged. Thus, the construction might has not consequences on the lifes of the groundhog.

Nontheless, it might sounds quite extreme but, technically, the road might end up to save the lifes of those animals in case of pestilences or generaly, in case some unexpected events happen and the life of those animals is seriously compromised. In fact, thanks to the roead, it would be possible to help them.

In conclusion, in order to evaluate the veridicity of the argumentation effectively, it would be necessarly to have some information regarding the time in which the ancient records were written and the way those numbers were achieved. Moreover, it would be important to study deeper the circumstances in which the neighboring town of Carpenteria showed the decline in groundhog population. Finally, it is importnat to evaluate also whether the construction of the road might actually increrase the tourism and hence, somehow damage the biodiversity and t potential healthy envirorment for the animals.