Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly, Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Nature’s Way, a store which sells health food and other health-related products, is set to open in the town of Plainville. The franchise owner expects the store to be profitable and successful. This conclusion of the author is based on the fact that Nature’s Way has always proved to be lucrative in residential areas comprising of people living a healthy lifestyle. Before evaluating the soundness of this conclusion, one must consider the unstated assumptions made by the author. Thus, the following four questions must be answered.

First, can we predict the sales statistics based on a report of previously done sales? In other words, can we assure that an “all-time high” sales report going to follow growth in profits? The author is maybe trying to extrapolate the sales statistics of the future based on the present data. Perhaps the sales in future, after the opening of Nature’s Way, might decline. For example, it is possible that residents of Plainsville gradually becomes sufficiently healthy and in turn, they won’t be needing such health foods and other products. If the above scenario becomes true, then the assertion made by the author considerably weakens.

Second, does this statistics for local health club covers for every age group or does it just focuses on a specific age group of the population? By mentioning “more members”, the author is probably trying to assert that every type of age groups are involved in such healthy activities. It is possible that residents from age twenty to thirty only engage in activities such as weight training and aerobics classes. If this is true, then people who do not belong to the age group of twenty to thirty might not purchase health-related products from Nature’s Way store. Therefore, this plausible example, if true, might significantly attack the conclusion made by the author.

Third, stating that school children are “required” to engage in fitness activities, questions an individual kid’s liberty that is, whether he or she is interested or not. For example, suppose a child who is fascinated by indoor sports activities might not find physical exercise interesting and enforcing it upon them might lead problems which perhaps will reduce the interest of others in such physical activities. If this becomes true, the number of children engaging in a healthy lifestyle will reduce and hence it will strongly oppose the author’s conclusion.

Finally, the author assumes that children who are made to engage in physical activity in their school life will continue such lifestyle forever. Perhaps, the children are following these physical activities as a school routine. For example, suppose a child who was involved in physical activity in his or her school life, might become a lethargic and torpor child in future. If this example becomes true, the author’s assertion about these school children as a “new generation of potential customer” will be largely weakened.

In conclusion, proposed argument, as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its dependency on several unsuitable assumptions. The author is, therefore, requested for providing more appropriate and logical evidence in order to make their argument valid. If the author accounts the above three questions, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.