One increasingly popular policy for promoting renewable energy is a feed-in tariff. Under such a policy, investors on any scale, from large corporations to individual homeowners, produce their own energy from solar panels installed on their property. Electricity companies are then required to purchase the energy through a long-term contract at an increased rate that allows the investors to more than offset the cost over time. There is no denying that the initial cost of solar installation is a burden on the investor. In strenuous economic times, both businesses and homeowners might be reluctant to make the investment due to concern that the payout could be less than sufficient or the plan might prove unfeasible. However, research has shown that a feed-in tariff plan is not only stable but also exceptionally effective and it ought to be more actively pursued.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that a feed-in tarif plan which promote renewable energy should become more popular may seem logical at first glance. However, the evidence that the people involved in this plan would get an income and some benefits after their investment is not totally clear and well-supported. Therefore, many aspect of the argument should be modified in order to make the suggestion more convincing.

First, while arguing that the energy that will not be used by investor will be sold to electricity companies, the author has not been totally clear about the stability of the incomes. For instance, it is not possible to understand from the text whether the contract between investors and company is automatically estabilished at the moment the former decide to build their solar panels or if it is something that would be decided later. Therefore, since the costs of construction of these sources of energy are very high, investors would not be able to take the risk to not receive an income from the companies. To avoid this problem the author should clarify whether the contract between investors and electicity firms is signed before or after the investment.

In addition, it is not provided any information concerning troubles that would occur after the implementation of the given policy. Suppose for example that because of bad solar illumination and high energy consuption of the house owners no additional energy is available to be given to the electricity company. Reading the given text is not clear how this situation could be handled and whether an insurance is included in the partnership between investors and the electricity providers. Without this information it is not possible to understand the legal risks of this investment, since no worst case scenario has been analyzed.

Furthermore, the author strongly believe that the money invested would come back in the future and that this kind of investment would be strongly positive in terms of incomes. However, even if he quotes some research which would support his thesis, any pratical data is given. In fact, his assumptions would be way more trustable if some information about the average time needed to regain the money invested would have been provided. All this is to say that without this specific information it is difficult for a company or even for a simple homeowner to evaluate wheter they would be able to make such an investment.

In conclusion, the author is not totally wrong while arguing a that feed-in tarif should become more popular. However, the information provided are not enough to decide whether it would be a profitable investment. First, the terms of the contract between the investors and the electricity companies should be made clearer to avoid any possible loss of money due to disunderstanding. In addition, it has to be specified whether an insurance for investors is included because there are too many factors that could affect the amount of energy produced and the investors need to be sure that their income will not depend on them. Lastly, the author's suggestion would be way more convincing if the author would add information about the average time needed by the past investors to regain the money spent.