One recent research study has indicated that many adolescents need more sleep than they are getting, and another study has shown that many high school students in our city are actually dissatisfied with their own academic performance. As a way of combating these problems, the high schools in our city should begin classes at 8:30 A.M. instead of 7:30 A.M., and end the school day an hour later. This arrangement will give students an extra hour of sleep in the morning, thereby making them more alert and more productive. Consequently, the students will perform better on tests and other assignments, and their academic skills will improve significantly.

The need to have a sound sleep is paramount for all human beings as it helps i completing the day's body cycle with utmost efficiency and bringing it to full charge for the next day. The argument that shifting the school hours by one hour late would increase the academic skills of the students is flawed for a number of reasons. Below are a few which describe how changing the school schedule might not result in improving the academic skills significantly.

The first and the foremost flaw is that the argument fails to state the situation of the schools in the city. They need to consider the courses that are imparted inn these schools, whether there is appropriate faculty to impart the necessary education to the students. The infrastructure of the schools in the city need to be validated. The schools of the city may be lacking on these fronts as a result of which the students would have no zeal at the academic front. A revisit to the course curriculum of these schools need to be undertaken to verify if they are lagging on these fronts.

The duration for which the school functions needs to be talked about. If the school hours are significantly long, no matter what time you start the day it would not help in making the students productive. They would still have to give the same number of hours during a day which might be the reason that would be wearing them out, hence a decline in the performance at tests. The long hours may itself be a burden to the students.

Consequently, a study on the students population has not been done. The students in the city may be less inclined to an academic career. Their areas of interest may be more towards sports and other extracurricular activities and they may be focussing more on such fields. Investing time in such areas might not give a student the necessary bandwidth to focus on the academic performance. Also, if students in the city look out more for such careers, the training schedules may be such tat it consumes all of their time and energy, hence less focus on the academics.

The above mentioned reasons help in justifying to some extent the dissatisfaction among students for their performance. These need to be considering for developing a plan that can help students focus on their academic skills as well.