In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area The Hillview landfill which has been undeveloped for decades is a perfect site for the plant The buildi

The speaker here addresses the problem of unemployment which was caused as result of a Computech company and proposes a solution to the city council inorder to attract an automobile giant to build a manufacturing plant in the Hillview land. However, the solution proposed has many flaws which are listed below.

Firstly, the speaker states that the unemployment was created as a result of Computech computer software programming company abandoning its national facility last year. Thus, it can be assumed that this company employed majority of computer software developers which are now unemployed, and the speaker is asking the city council to attract an automobile manufacturing plant which will largely employ mechanical and automobile engineers. A car manufacturing plant will not be able to employ thousands of computer science engineer in its plant. Thus the solution suggested by speaker doesn't addresses the problem of unemployment efficiently.

Secondary, it is mentioned about encouraging the Autotech company to establish its plant in the Hillview area but it is not mentioned whenther the manufacturing company will hire the unemployed residents or not. There is a possibility that the manufacturing company will have its own workforce already present from the other manufacturing plants, and it is not planning to hire any employees. In such situation, establishing a plant and offering significant tax incentives to make the town attractive will not serve its purpose. Also the reason behind Computech computer software programming company abandoning its national facility last year is not known. It is highly possible that the company was not performing well and it's employees were not efficient enough. Thus training the unemployed residents might help alleviate the employment problem.

Finally, the hillview landfill is been underdeveloped for the decades. There is the possibility that this land is not suitable for any industry or manufacturing plant, hence no company has utilized this land till now. Otherwise, this landfill would've been used for some commercial or residential purposes earlier itself.

Thus, to alleviate the employment the solution suggested by speaker have some major flaws from assuming that the company will establish its manufacturing plant in the land untilized from decades to expecting that an automobile company will hire computer science engineers.