In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based upon the fact that if subway system is installed, it will provide remedy for the traffic congestion in the city of Briggsville. But the argument of the author is not cogent becasue of some unwarranted assumptions.

The arguments assumes that subway system running through the major downtown areas, where buses sreve as the only form of public transportation, will reduce the traffic congestion. But it may be true that the major congestion are usually not at the major downtowns because of the buses. It may happen that as a center of economy of the country a large number of business and commercial trucks passes through the downtowns causing a serious congestion. In order to remove congestion the city should provide a bypass system for those vehicles. However, it may be also true that the congestions never happen in the downtowns but occur in suburban areas because large number of factories in the city are located their. People going to the factories uses private cars and those cars cause the traffic congestion. So, in order to conclude that the propsed subway will remove traffic cngestion, the exact location of the congestion and the vehicle types of the locations must be clearly explained.

However, it is also possible that the subway because it is running thorugh the major downtowns is following a rounabout path for most of the passengers using it hence requiring more times comapred to the time they spend in traffic congestion. If it is true then the subway will not provide the purpose for which it has been proposed. Had the argument exlicitly explained about the path and placed evidence that the subway will not follow a roundabout path in order to catch every major downtowns then the argument will be more persuasive.

The argument unwarrantedly assumes that production of a company is solely dependent on the time length workers spend in the office. Productivity largely depends on the working environment of the company. It may happen that the ventilation system, internet system, heating system of the company are not good and the workers suffer a lot which reduces the productivity. It is also possible that the company does not provide any recess during work and for this in the later part of the day the workers become tierd and their average productvity is hampered.

Again it may happen that the city economy is not improving becasue of some unwarranted business policiy and without solving those problems only removing traffic congestion is not going to improve the economy.

The argument is not cogent becasue of some unwarranted assumptions.