In order to relieve Briggsville s notorious traffic congestion Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi million dollar subway system The subway will run through the major downtown areas a part of the town where buses serve as the only form o

The author suggests that building a multi-million dollar subway system will improve the economy of Briggsville by increasing worker productivity and providing an alternative method of public transportation for the currently flawed bus system. The evidence presented is that the subway will run twenty-four hours a day through the major downtown areas and motorists will spend less time in traffic. There are many flaws with this argument; therefore, I will examine the assumptions, explain how the argument depends on these assumptions, and explain what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarrented.

Firstly, the unstated assumption is that this new method of transportation will solve the inconsistency of the current public transportation method. This assumes that the same kind of issues that cause inconsistent buses will not occur with the subways. This doesn't take in account that the subway drivers could call in sick, have an emergency, run behind schedule, or the subway system itself could be malfunctioning. If the subways in Briggsville end up being inconsistent at times just like the subways in New York, this will weaken the argument.

Secondly, the next unstated assumption is that the new method of transportation will be safer than the current system. It doesn't take into account that most crimes occur late at night and in the early hours of the morning. If residents end up complaining that the general lack of safety while riding the subways is worse than the current system, this too will weaken the author's argument.

Thirdly, the next stated assumption is that since motorists will spend less time in traffic, an increase in worker productivity that will boost the city's economy will be seen immediately. There is no way to say with confidence that this will improve worker productivity for sure. While the new method of transportation may provide another avenue for the people of the city to get to work, there is no specific evidence as to how motorist spending less time in traffic will help improve productivity. This weakens the argument even further.

In summary, there are many holes that exist in this argument. If the assumptions prove unwarrented, the city will end up wasting millions of dollars on a system that creates new problems I've presented in order to solve old problems.