In order to save a considerable amount of money, Rockingham's century-old town hall should be torn down and replaced by the larger and more energy-efficient building that some citizens have proposed. The old town hall is too small to comfortably accommodate the number of people who are employed by the town. In addition, it is very costly to heat the old hall in winter and cool it in summer. The new, larger building would be more energy efficient, costing less per square foot to heat and cool than the old hall. Furthermore, it would be possible to rent out some of the space in the new building, thereby generating income for the town of Rockingham.

The author of this argument propose to replace Rockingham's century-old town hall by the larger building which will make it more energy-efficient and will allow them to save a considerable amount of money. However, author has naively come to a conclusion without considering the factors which will be involved in building a new town hall.

Considering, requirement of funds to build a new town hall. To break an old town hall and build a new over it will surely require money but the question is from where it will come? It might be possible, the government or community which is looking over these issues have to divert there funds from more important project currently going on in Rockingham and that can turn out to be a waste of investment. The author's argument in not convincing enough to build a new town hall.

Moving on to the point, new constructed building will be more energy-efficient. A large building, have more volume and can accommodate more people will surely require more air-conditioners in summer and heaters in winter. Hence, the energy consumption of the newly build town hall will be much more than the current town hall. So, there is clear dichotomy in the facts provided by the author and expectations that he is having. Further, author needs to amass more information and present more evidence in order to make argument more compelling and conclusive.

Additionally, the author implies that some space in the building can be used as a rent-able property and will be an income generating asset for the town. But considering the fact that, are the people in requirement of taking the space on rent? And if they are, giving on rent will be enough for compensating the investment done in building in first place? For example, if we build a house for $100 and rent it for $5 per month then first we have cover the initial investment done by us i.e. $100. For that it will require continue rent for 20 months and then I will be in a position to save money. That leaves argument vague and ambiguous.

Hence, the author has to collect more information about the old building. The author must search for some solid evidence. He should do a complete and detailed study of the claims he has presented and emphasize on other factors that are affecting it in order to make his claim more cogent and logically correct.