Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numbe

It seems to be logical, at the first glance, to agree with the decreasing the number of shoppers due to increasing the popularity of skateboarding. However, the author of this argument relies on a couple of less credible evidence or even doubtful assumption to consolidate his stance. In what fallows, I will elaborate on them in details.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer refers to a survey but does not specify the size of target population. In the argument is mentioned “many Central Plaza store owners” but did not mention the number of them and this target sample is what percent of Central Plaza store owners. It can be possible they have a small group that is not satisfied with the skateboarding, at all. According to statistical theories, the greater the population of sample to target size, the more reliable results are. Thus, the first piece of evidence we need to know more about, then analyze, is specifying the number of surveyors who represent all Central Plaza store owners.

The second problem with the argument is that it concludes on a weak analogy. The author did not attention to the fact that this decreasing might have another reasons; this state had stagnation in these years and people are not potent enough to come this Center, or even other Center that built near Plaza Center which is more beautiful with the logical price that affected these Center shoppers. In order to better assess the argument, we would need to know about other factors that might cause this decreasing the number of shoppers in Plaza Center.

The third problem with this argument is that the Plaza Center might be located in a place that shoppers prefer going there with the skateboards, and the most shoppers of Plaza Center may be a skateboarding, and this prohibition leads the worst condition for shop owners. So, in addition, to improve the argument as a whole, it is greatly recommended to specify the percent of skateboarding shoppers of Plaza Center.

To recapitulate, despite the argument suffers from several problems and is unconvincing, but we cannot absolutely rely on it or refuse it without perusing any additional assumptions and reasoning. The author can strengthen his assertion by changing states referred to the mentioned solutions. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.