Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

To assess whether prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaza would increase business activity in the area, returning it to previously high levels, two main questions must be answered. Is the increase in the number of skateboard users the only reason that could explain the decrease in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza? Also, can the dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza be explained by other reasons? Let's dive into those two questions and explain how the answers would help evaluate the recommendation.

First, to make sure the recommendation would produce the desired result, we must make sure the increase in the number of skateboard users is the only reason that could explain the decrease in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza. What else could explain this decrease? Evaluating the state of the overall economy would be very important. Let's suppose the economy is in a downtrend, with businesses registering a decrease in revenues everywhere. In that case, it would be impossible to say for sure that skateboarders were the reason for the decrease in shoppers in Central Plaza. Also, other factors such as the rise of pricing of products and services offered in Central Plaza, as well as unemployment in the neighboring communities, could as well explain the decrease in shoppers over the past two years. Alternative hypothesis such as those should be generated and checked before moving to action.

Second, what else could explain the dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza? The recommendation of prohibiting skateboarding would only generate the desired result if it is proven that skateboarders are the reason for such an increase. However, other reasons could explain this. Consider for example an increase in the number of homeless people in Central Plaza over the past two years. That could very well explain the amount of litter and vandalism. Also, we should check whether the government investment levels in city cleaning and maintenance is not decreasing during this period. If so, that could also very well explain the increase in the amount of litter and vandalism. Hypothesis such as those must also be verified and ruled out before moving to action.

Answering those two main questions, whether the increase in the number of skateboard users are the only reason that could explain the decrease in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza, and whether skateboarders are the only reason that could explain the dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza, is extremely important before rushing into prohibiting the activity. Otherwise, the action can be taken but the result expected, returning business activity in Central Plaza to previously high levels, might not be achieved.