Over the past two years the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number

A central plaza store owner has sent letter to an editor in order to advocate for closing skateboarding in central plaza. However, this argument is based on incomplete evidence relating decreased number of shoppers, decreased business, increased litter and vandalism while failing to consider possibility of business with skateboarders and other people who come there. Thus, the evidence should be further analyzed and evidences should be prepared based on more research and analysis.

Firstly, the author has related decreased number of shops and business to skateboarding without deeper study. There can be plethora of reasons that precipitate into falling business. For instance, there can be concommitant growth of other business center in the town, causing decline business from the point. Mostly, business in one city center decreases significantly with decentralization of markets. Growth of other business hubs around the city should be examined and city center is supposed to employ competitive offers in order to increase their market share. Further, data on national or regional economic status should also be analyzed. If this is the case of nationwide recession or economic stagnation, people shift their hard earned money towards only essential things and business may have slowed down. Thus, the question "How can you announce skateboarding as sole cause of business decline?" should be answered first.

Secondly, The author should answer whether skateboarding has increased litter around the city or not and how he can consider closing skateboarding as a single solution to this. Similar to previous case, increased litter can have multiple causes. decreased dustbin, less tight legislature regarding waste production and disposal are few among many. If this is the case, it can be solved by increased dustbin and tighter legislature can solve without any need to banning skateboarding from the city center. Further, even if skateboarding is related to increased litter and vandalism around city center, government can impose stronger legislature and punishment if somebody is throwing litter haphazardly. This way, city center can continue skateboarding while keeping environment clean and green.

Further, the author fails to consider business opportunity from skateboarders. They can bring discount offers targeting skateboarders where skateboarders get better discount while shopping or they can make skateboarding companies agree to provide certain discount to those who perform shopping at city center. This should be considered before coming into hasty generalization that skateboarding is decreasing their market.

It maybe true that city center has currently losing its business opportunities to skateboarding but before reaching that conclusion, abovementioned questions should be answered first. By answering those questions and performing further studies can bolster author's argument regarding closure of skateboarding at city center.