"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above given prompt suggests that the store owners in Central Plaza think that the increase in popularity of skateboarding in Central Plaza has negatively affected their business. They are of the opinion that the increase in litter and vandalism has also deterred prospective customers from visiting their stores. There seems to be a hint that the store owners are attributing the increase in litter and vandalism to the skateboarders who frequent Central Plaza. They feel that if the city prohibits skateboarding in Central Plaza, their business will return to the previously high levels. It seems that the store owners are under a wrong conception that banning skateboarding would make their businesses return to the previously high levels. The loss in business can be attributed to several factors and it may happen that skateboarding is not one of them.

Firstly, it has been stated that the decrease in business is due to the skateboarders that have encroached upon Central Plaza. It seems that there is no base to such an acquisition. There could be various other reasons for the decrease in the number of people visiting Central Plaza. One of the possibilities would be the cleanliness in general. It is stated that there has been an increase in litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. There is a possibility that the authorized personnel are not doing their task of picking up the litter spread around Central Plaza. This could deter people from visiting the shops in Central Plaza. Or else, there could be a new shopping complex that has come up in the city with better services and stores, that might have attracted the former customers of Central Plaza towards it.

Secondly, the store owners are optimistic about the fact that the restrictions on skateboarding in Central Plaza would bring back their previously high levels of business. The proof for such a claim is found to be missing from the argument provided. The argument states that the number of shoppers has been declining at a steady pace over the past two years. On the contrary, the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. This would suggest that the skateboarders might have started frequenting Central Plaza when they realized that the number of shoppers visiting it has decreased considerably. This would mean that the reason for the decreasing number of customers should not be attributed to the increase in skateboarders.

Additionally, the letter above implicitly suggests that the shop owners of Central Plaza are attributing the increase in litter and vandalism to the skateboarders who have started to frequent Central Plaza. There is no definitive proof for such a claim. There could be another theory to this situation which would include miscreants entering the Central Plaza and littering the place all over. This could mean that the skateboarders are being wrongly accused by the store owners.

The store owners seem to point their fingers at the skateboarders for their drop in business and the lack of shoppers at Central Plaza. But their claims do not have evidences that are strong enough. The evidences have a lot of loopholes that prevents a reader from coming to a definitive conclusion.