“Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests refusing the purchase of the products of Crust Copper Company (CCC) until the company abandons its mining plans in the tropical nation of West Fredonia in order to prevent environmental disaster and the disappearance of endangered species residing there. At the first sight, the argument seems plausible; however, on closer inspection, it is found to be rife with several flaws and unwarranted assumptions and several alternative explanations could be made which could seriously undermine the validity of the conclusion. The author should provide additional significant evidences in order to provide sufficient ground for the argument to stand.

First of all, the author naively assumes that Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. However, this assumption falls short given the lack of evidence. It is possible that the land do not contain any viable ore for the extraction of copper for the commercial purpose. It is also possible that the company has purchased such land considering the welfare of the endangered species in order to elevate its reputation. The author needs to provide reliable evidence regarding the purpose of CCC in the purchase of the land before coming to the conclusion.

Secondly, let the company has purchased the land for the extraction of the copper for financial purpose for granted. Still, it is the presumptuous of the author to assume that boycotting the products of CCC is an easy task and would impel CCC to abandon the plan. However, it might not be true. It is likely that CCC might be running different companies that manufacture cables, wires, pots and the like so throughout the entire nation about which people are unaware of, and CCC is providing only raw copper to these companies. If it is the case, then people will have no idea about the copper used in these materials as the companies producing these materials have entirely the different name.

Thirdly, let the people are aware of the products that uses the copper from CCC. Still it is not practical for the entire people to unify and abandon these products as it can be used in infinite numbers of products from very small electronic component to large cable wires. Further, since the company is large enough, it can have branches in several nations and it is possible that the company could export its products to different many countries and still will be able to thrive without abandoning its process of extraction of copper.

In sum, though the argument seems plausible, it lacks its persuasiveness due to its reliance upon several flaws unwarranted assumptions. The author should provide additional significant evidences in order to justify the validity of its assumptions. Unless the author provides such convincing evidences, the argument remains highly dubious and cannot be reasonably established.