Over the past year the Crust Copper Company CCC has purchased over 10 000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered

Despite the fact that the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in West Fredonia for mining, the author claims that the environmental disaster which will be potentially caused by the mining can be avoided if customers simply refuse the company's products. However, the writer's logic involves several mistakes that help him idealize reverting the environmental disaster.

Customers hardly have a reason to refuse the company's products. Since the effects of environmental degradation are not immediate, customers in West Fredonia don't have efficient information to be aware of the company's detriments on their homeland. Therefore, the customers will only stick to their routine and buy any products readily available in their region, including those of CCC. For instance, if a customer wants to purchase a copper cup, they will go to CCC, for they mine copper. By the time the customers have realized the harms that mining brings to the area, the environmental destruction caused by CCC has been ingrained and thus can hardly be reversed. Therefore, the customers will not naturally turn away from CCC because the detrimental effects it may bring are not immediate to see.

Moreover, even if customers refuse to buy products from CCC, the environmental detriments are still here to stay because CCC not only provides materials for citizens in West Fredonia. CCC may be mining copper for companies and residents outside of West Fredonia in faraway places. In a world where globalization is increasingly important, the customers in West Fredonia may only be a tiny portion of CCC's target customers. Without the support of customers in West Fredonia, CCC may still thrive, dependent on other customers from around the world. Since other customers do not live in West Fredonia, they don't care about the environment in West Fredonia as well. Thus, they will still urgently need the products of CCC and help CCC to continue running.

Finally, the author ignores other factors that can reverse the detrimental environmental destruction caused by CCC. With the enhancing international environmental policies nowadays, the government can require CCC to mine in an area free of precious wild animals to minimize the effects that manufacturing has on the environment. Also, with the revolutionary technology that keeps transforming the way of production, CCC can employ techniques that help them to mine while minimizing damage to the environment. In a word, there are more practical and forceful ways of preventing environmental damage than expecting the customers in West Fredonia to reject CCC.

Thus, although the author assumes that customers' rejection of CCC will make them stop producing and stop environmental damage, such an assumption is realistic. The customers will not refuse the products of CCC in time because of delayed environmental effects, and customers from other places will still make CCC thrive. Also, more powerful ways exist to forestall the environmental damage caused by CCC.