Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with th

The recommendation endorsed by the author is that the television station should restore the time devoted to whether and local view to gain more views and gain opportunity to earn more by advertisment. However, there are some pieces of crucial evidence required to be examined to evaluate the validity of the conslusion.

First, the author assume that the company stop to investgate in advertisment simply because less viewers are willing to match the channel. However, there sre still a lot of reason that company curtained their advertisement budget. Perhaps, the company are faced with financial crisis recently. Under this circumstance, it will lower the insequence cost that won't significantly cause devestating influence to the company, such as advertisement cost. The author's failure to establish or investigate the relationship between the cancelled advertisement program and the viewers of the channel make the conclusion not convincing

Secondly, the author didn't take other factor that make viewers to complain, which has committed a fallacy of oversimplification. Maybe audiences are complaining just because the recent weather is too bad. So they need more information of weather to know whether they should go to work or stay at home for safety tomorrow. In this circumstance, it is just a tempory trend of preference of viewers, not the future or permanent favor of audience.

Finally, the author can unfairly assume that most people don't like to see national news. In the auther's argument, we didn't see any stastics for number of complains versus the total number of residents living in the area. Perhaps there is only three complaint about decresed time in local news and whether report, but there are one hundred. In this case, the total portion of the complaints is little. Hence, the author should provide more detailed information to strengthec his or her statement.

In sum, some logical fallacies render the conclusion vulnerable to refutation. The auther should take more potential factors into account are provide more statistics to justify his or her standpoint.