Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news During the same time period most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with th

The aforementioned memorandum from the business manager to the television station suggests to decrease the time devoted to the national news,introduced recently and increase the time devoted to local news and weather due to considerable drop in number of viewers, increased complaints and a declining trend in the advertisement contracts signed by companies to this new 'late night program'. There are many factors which need to be analyzed before taking a decision.

Firstly, the late night program, does not mention how 'late' it is aired. It is possible that , the timing of the show is causing an issue for the viewers. The program might be very interesting , but the time devoted to each news, the over all time duration of the program and nature of the program matters a lot. Proper evidence regarding the time duration, time devoted for each news and information about , if the television station is presenting view in a disinterested manner or is biased should taken into consideration. Proper evidence regarding the number of viewers , before and after the alteration in timings should be presented as well.

Secondly, the complaints received by the television channel, suggesting to increase the time devoted for local and weather news in the late night program must be analysed properly. There are chances that the viewers completely abhor national news, in such a situation, the television station needs to get a proper summary about the suggestions mentioned in the complain. It is also possible that most viewers enjoy the broadcasting of local and weather news by particular news employees, the exact reason should be found out before making any alterations in the time devoted to national news.

Thirdly, the companies that have terminated the advertising contract must be analysed individually. A proper document containing information about the trend in spending of that company for advertising must be analysed. It is a possibility that these companies have incurred losses or changed their marketing strategies which has led to termination of contracts and indirectly decreased revenue for the television company.Proper evidence and a meticulous team must be devoted to study this.

In conclusion, due to lack of evidence it is risky to alter the timings of news of local or national. After introducing a change in program by a television company, it is important to market it as well, it takes a considerable amount of time for people to adapt to these changes. Proper analysis must be conducted by taking into consideration the factors mentioned.