A nation should require all its students to study the same curriculum before entering college

A nation's progress is measured by the standard of education provided to the children of that country.In a nation where people coming from different backgrounds, embracing vivid social and cultural rituals and having distinguishable skills are all made to pursue education of the same curriculum ,would certainly create a level playing field for all its students.I strongly agree that , a national curriculum should be made applicable to the students until they enter college.

Firstly, co-existance of two or more curriculums leads to many problems. If every state has its own curriculum, the syllabus contains history and geography with a provincial outlook. Important information such as regional freedom fighters of that nation is available in the syllabus but for a student residing in another state, the list differs completely.For pursuing higher education , when a student from a state 'XYZ' rellocates to a state 'ABC', due to limited knowledge and information known to him,regarding the social and cultural aspects, the weather pattern and history of that state, he is often underconfident and meek while having a conversation with his classmates. If a national curriculum would exist, an overall idea about the distinguished culture and physical factors of every town , would help students greatly.

Secondly, the numerous cirriculums, each unique in its way, conducts tests. Few curriculums introduce subjects like Computer Science, Chemistry and Physics as soon as the student gets into secondary school, this might not be the case in another curriculum. A vast difference between syllabus, paper pattern and evaluation of exams, causes difficulty for students when they get admitted into a college. For instance, let us consider that a national level apptitude test is to be scheduled , the organising committee gets capricious as to how to evaluate students enrolled in different curriculums, what should be the paper pattern and how to provide a fair chance to every student and how to provide a uniform grading system. This uncertainity would not have been caused if there was a national curriculum.

In conclusion, I would like to say that, for a country to develop, it is very important that its students imbibe skills and qualities, each unique in their own way. A national curriculum , will help students evaluate themselves on a national level very easily. Their exposure and knowledge about the nation as a whole would increase drastically. It is important to consider each state's social and cultural history and hence for all its citizens to know about every region is extremely important. A nationalised curriculum would act as a catalyst in doing so.