“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager stated that it is necessary to restore the time devoted to weather and local news in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing advertising revenues; however, he fails to justify his stand by providing sufficient evidence.

The manager states that according to the past year's performance, most of the complaints from the viewers were concerned with the television station's coverage of weather and local news. The statement did not mention how the viewers' thoughts and opinion were collected, whether it was through surveys or personal interviews. It also did not mention the number of the viewers who made complaints and the total number of respondents. Therefore, the concerns regarding the coverage of weather and local news would not seem to be representative of all the station's audience. To strengthen his argument, a survey that inquries about program viewers' opinions on the decreased time of weather and local news is needed. A data comparison of the amount of viewers for the years before time of weather and local news was reduced and the years after that is also neccessary to find out whether the time really had effects on losing any audience.

Additionally, the manager also implicitly draws a conclusion that the less coverage of weather and local news results into less viewers of the program; however he only mentioned about getting complaints from the current viewers instead of the decrease in the number of total viewers. Even if the number of viewers has indeed decreased for the past year, other factors could also result in such decrease such as the change in the quality of the program, the rise of the station's competitors, and the change in the program directors.

On the other hand, while local businesses canceled their advertising contracts with the station, this fact is not strong enough to lead to weather and local news being the main reason for local businesses to keep contracts with the station before. Local businesses could also cancel their contracts for some other reasons like the closedown of local business, or they found other better deals for advertising. Bringing back the time devoted for local news and weather does not necessarily mean the advertising revenues will be brought up, not until the station figures out why local businesses canceled the contracts exactly.

To conclude, the statements the business manager is not likely significantly persuade the station to restore the time devoted to weather and local news since he has not provided with sufficient evidence and connections in his statements.