The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some poeple argue that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in any field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation; while others believe that only competition is what makes young people successful. I agree to some extent that cooperation plays an important role in developing one's leadership skills. However, the sense of competition is also not neglectible for people to become well-rounded individuals.

Any industry nowadays require people to have the ability to work with others in a collaborative environment and no one can ever succeed without working out things with others. Government officials from different departments will need to cooperate with each other for delivering a satisfying outcome for the good of their poeple. Medical services are in need of nurses and doctors who can collaboratively proceed their operation procedures. Companies in need of graphic designers are constantly looking for talented individuals who are not limited to have only innovative ideas and talents but also the skills to communicate effectively with other designers and developers for the good of the team. Additionally, universities and colleges prepare students for developing their leadership in a similar circumstance. Group projects are prioritized and utilized to test one's ability in working with various kinds of people. It not only requires a student to fully demonstrate his/her talents using the knowledge and skills obtained in a certain field, but also demands him/her to understand everyone's role in the team and act as a supportive and collaborative member in contributing to the team's overall success.

While cooperation skills being one of the most important factor in success, competitions are also needed for individual beings to devlop thier leadership skills. Without competitions, there will be no room for understanding how well one does among a group of peple, therefore reduces the motivation to move forward. For example, without the presidential elections, there will be no competitions among those who seek to be and have the potential to be a nation's leader. Besides, take the field of user experience where I currently work in as an example. While it is significant that a user experience designer knows how to work with other designers to build a strong team, if members in the team does not have the sense of competition, there will be no motivations for them to ideate and brainstorm ideas that they think would work better than the present ideas. A lack of competition results into low efficiency of work outcome. To the contrary, if one posseses the intension to compete with others in a positive direction, he/she is motivated to communicate with others for competing and lead the team.

Based on the factors that I have discussed above, I agree to the statement that young people will need a sense of cooperation as well as competition in order for them to truly succeed in any field in the society because competition promotes cooperation as well in a way that a successful leader will act as.