Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

While the author asserts that the late-night show should spend more time on weather and local news as it did in the past in order to avoid more advertisers cancelling, he or she fails to give evidence to support this claim. The author also fails to draw a cause-and-effect relationship between increased time devoted to national news, decreased viewership, and local advertisers canceling contracts. In order to make a more convincing argument, clearer language and evidence should be included.

First of all, the author simply states that viewers complained about their "coverage of weather and local news." Were they complaining about the amount of coverage, or the quality of coverage? Including a clearer description of customer complaints would prove to a reader that in fact the public wants to see more weather and local news and less national news on the late-night program. Another point where it would be helpful to include a quote would be when discussing how local businesses are canceling advertisement contracts. Are they canceling because they are making less money due to decreased viewership? This would prove the author's point that in order to further lose revenues, they should increase the amount of viewers by decreasing time spent on national news. As this argument stands, one could speculate that perhaps local businesses are pulling costly television ads and opting for more specific, personally tailored ads on social media and this contract canceling has nothing to do with what the late-night show is playing.

Other additions that would make this a more convincing argument would be actual statistics comparing before and after the switch between time spent on national news verses weather and local news. Giving the number of viewers before verses after the switch could show that right at the time of the switch a lot of viewers dropped off. Also, it would be helpful to include exactly how much time was spent on weather and local news before versus after the switch. Is this a significant amount of time? The author must prove that it was a significant amount of time in order to back up the claim that people are complaining about this switch. Finally, in order to prove that advertisers are canceling contracts due to the switch it would be compelling to include a statistic averaging amount of revenue per capita of viewer. All three of these additions would show that fewer people are watching the show because of a substantial decrease in time spent on what they want to see, and local advertisers are losing a certain amount of money as a consequence.

As it stands, this argument is unconvincing and unclear. One could argue that perhaps the reason people are complaining or local advertisers are pulling out of contracts is due to a decrease in quality in reporting or production at the late-night show, and has nothing to do with what is being covered. If a clearer relationship is drawn between programming, customer complaints, subsequent amount of viewers, and advertisers canceling contracts, the argument would be more substantial. Additionally, including actual statistics about the state of the show and its viewership before and after this supposedly deleterious shift would further bolster the argument. Overall, the author hints at a convincing claim but does not provide enough information to substantiate it.