A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Ever since the start of compulsory education via government sponsorship, legislators and those in power have struggled with designing school systems that are efficient and effective. While national guidelines could ensure equal opportunity and highly educated citizens, sweeping control could lead to a lack of flexibility that could be deleterious to teachers and students.

First of all, a national curriculum would ensure that students from all backgrounds can learn the same things in school. Thus, children at the bottom of the income bracket could expect to learn the same curriculum as those at the top. This would make future assimiliation into university easier and more fair. It would also establish a lower limit for schools to have to meet in order to stay on curriculum, in turn creating a more educated public. However, such efforts are idealistic and not always practical when implemented.

For example, right now in the United States of America, there is a huge divide in the standard of education quality between schools in low and high income areas. The low income areas have worse books, materials, after-school programs, and fail to attract the best teachers. It is for that reason that states required schools to meet certain levels at state-wide standardized tests. Schools with better scores receive awards and higher matriculation. However, some argue that "teaching to the test" provides excellent testing outcomes but poor overall education for a child.

To avoid subpar public schools, some parents choose to place their children in specialized private schools, such as Montessori or Waldorf to ensure smaller class sizes and bolster student creativity. Some students themselves choose to attend charter schools and specialize in math and science early. Some parents even choose to homeschool their children in order to fully allow them to set their own pace of learning. While a nation should strive to enforce a certain standard of education for all citizens, it cannot expect to create a curriculum that allows every student to rise to his or her full potential. However, not all parents can afford to send their students to specialized schools or stay home to homeschool, so public schools must be able to adequately prepare any student for adult life and college.

Overall, the education system in any country is fraught with oversights and complexities and simply is not able to fully accomodate every child. Requiring a national curriculum for students until they enter college is a good starting point for student success, but it should be implemented carefully as more of a guide-line than a strict set of lesson plans or exams to be taken. Equality is important, especially in the hope to counteract the the correllation between wealth and good education, but equality in education is a complicated issue and cannot be solved by simply requiring a national curriculum and doing nothing else.