"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The above argument makes multiple assumptions that aren't valid to prove the conclusion. This argument assumes that the time spent on local news and weather is directly proportional to the increase in viewers and advertising contracts.

The argument assumes that the increase in time devoted to local news and weather will attract more viewers. The argument states that the existing viewers have complained about the less time spent on local news and weather. There is no evidence provided to prove the above assumption. The increase in time spent on local news and weather doesn't guarantee increased viewers. If there had been a fact stated that proves this assumption such as people requesting this increase in order to start watching this program, then this assumption would have been valid.

The argument assumes that the local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts because of less time spent on weather and local news. This isn't necessarily true. The contracts might have been canceled because of low budgets due to a poor economy. If the businesses had stated the reason for cancellation as the less time spent on local news, this assumption would have strengthened the argument.

In the past year, the weather could have been a major concern due to frequent storms or drought, or there was a very pertinent issue going on in the local area. These could be the reason for the demand for more time on weather and local news. The trend may change in the upcoming years. The interests of the viewers may differ over time. Increasing the time devoted to local news and weather doesn't guarantee happy viewers unless explicitly stated through a survey study.