"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The writer of the argument recommends that the time devoted to weather and local news should be restored to its former level so as to attract more viewers to the late-night news program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues; however, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that viewers mostly complained about the station’s coverage of weather and local news because it was shortened. However, there is no evidence to prove that most of the complaints received actually were because of the reduction of weather and local news. For example, maybe audiences were unsatisfied because the quality of coverage was poor and the style of the show was old-fashioned. Or maybe they didn’t provide their viewers with all-encompassing weather and local news as their news only covered some specific regions.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that local businesses canceled their advertising contracts because the time of weather and local news was reduced. But maybe these businesses canceled their contracts because their products’ adverts were not beneficial for them because they were not suitable for nights. They have probably changed them to another time of the day in order to gain more profit. Or maybe the price of ads in the middle of weather and local news was too high that local businesses didn’t find it economical and effective for selling more. besides, maybe they were unable to afford it.

A third problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the number of advertising contracts and the viewers of the late-night program was decreased due to the lack of time for local and weather news. Firstly, there is no reasonable proof to confirm that this fall in the number of audiences has happened. Secondly, the decrease in the number of advertisements in the program may have nothing to do with the number of viewers.

In the final analysis, the writer’s recommendation cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraph above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The recommendation can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.