"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

In this world most of the people do not pay attention to all events happening around the world.Our human brain is basically adapted to being self centered in the first place and then we are concerned about what is around us everyday only after that,maybe in our leisure time we care for the world news.Though in some cases this view changes based on the popularity of the news. On the other hand when it comes to worldly news people only focus or concentrate on their fields of interest.An old retired man would worry about the diseases and what cure are being advanced for the disease whereas a man in his 30's would focus on the ups and downs in the economy and the share market, while his son is worried about the latest video games that are about to be released aroud the globe.This would have been the reason for the reduction of viewers and cancellation of advertising contracts.Thus the human brain is itself biased when it comes to its interest annd dislikes.

The people watching the news would be first worried about his area and the area where is close friends and family are situated before worrying about the world.For example hurricae in Florida would ideally be a news but "Hurricanes in the place where Mr.X is located is very severe",this news would kindle his mind and will make him to go in depth with the details.Likewise The people who complained in the passage regarding the weather and local news clearly exhibit the above scennario.They are less inntereted in whats happening in the nation.They are focussed on them and they are comparatively more worried about what is happening around them than in the nation.A news about economic downfall would not make them think or worry about how it will affect them because its not inn the immediate future whereas A news about heavy downpour tomorrow will concern or worry them as it will affect their near future.

As for the television In the notion of capturing the national view,They should not loose the local viewers.They should try to interest all the viewers in order to increase their trp and capture the attention of the advertising group.People who are interested in the global news will however try to seek from various sources.But to increase the channels viewers we must focus on the dominant group.In the present self focussed world the sad truth is that the people uninterested in the world news are higher than who are interested.Therefore the decision made in the conclusion of the passage is correct.To increase the advertising revenues the channel must devote time more to the local news.