Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the assumption that simply eating bone broth will regenerate already lost tissue in the human body.

Paleo diet relies on consuming the food early - this can help due to the fact that the body gets a longer time to digest the food properly. The argument is assuming that eating food early will reduce the urge to consume junk and fast foods.

The assumption that the body has evolved to develop a capacity of regenerating crucial lost tissues. This can be supported by eating healthy foods like bone broth but they are definitely not the major source. The body is known to absorb important nutrients from the food that we eat. The body cannot regenerate tissues by simply ingesting it. It needs a well-formed diet to support the process of tissue regeneration. Bone broth is simply one of the sources that will help in doing it and not the crux of it.

Since bone broth contains animal bones - it should have numerous nutrients that are very helpful for the human body. As stated in the argument, consuming it regularly will lead to having fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases but that does not mean that it will cure such chronic disease existing diseases.

Based on the assumptions stated in the argument, it can be said that it is a way towards living a healthy life rather than a way of curing chronic diseases.