Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leaders become famous because they possess a set of qualities. Few unique qualities may distinguish them from one and another but it is the common set of qualities that lays down the base. Maintaining respect for peers is one of the crucial ones.

Understanding the importance of "basics" is applied in numerous fields - be it learning, sports, leadership, etc. And one of the major basic qualities that a leader must have is to respect his peers. By definition, a leader is responsible to enable a group of people to follow him on the path to righteousness. Leaders are not expected to single-handedly deliver the assigned task. This can be seen from Presidents to a primary school teacher. Presidents are elected because of their strong sense of judgment - the ability to do the right thing in the most serious circumstances. However, even they rely on the opinion of others to make a sound decision. After all, a leader is also a human.

It goes without saying that a person who respects others is set to gain respect back from them. This is applicable to leaders too. A tyrant leader like Hitler - looking to establish a dictatorship of himself was not respected by other world leaders at the time. Leaders like Hitler who tend to think themselves as the supreme most human being create a false identity of themselves in their subconscious. When actually, a group of leaders can come together and guarantee the destruction of his superiority.

There is no doubt that leaders have to take a decision in one of the most stressful environments - when their sound moral judgment tends to help them a lot. But these decisions will be well received in the community and by his peers if he shows respect to his peer's decision. Pep Guardiola - the famous football coach that lead Barcelona, Bayern Munich, and Manchester City to numerous victories under his leadership. In his acceptance speech for the best football coach of the year he made a point to remember his peer Sir Alex Ferguson and acknowledged the tough competition he faced from his team.

A leader becomes a leader because he has the ability to make sound decisions. But a leader evolves to be a great leader by learning from his peers. And respecting them is the base to show the willingness to become a great leader.