Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Dietary practice must play an important role in determining the health condition of a human being. However, it has been scientifically proved that not all the dietary practice can be applicable to all. The argument regarding the paleo diets may be found helpful in numerous situations though it suffers from irrational statements. Nevertheless, the conclusion of the argument is based on unwarranted assumptions and therefore, not convincing as it stands.

To begin with, the argument has stated that bone broth has been a helpful food item that pushed the developments of our joints throughout the evolution journey of humanhood and therefore, based on this assumption it has been concluded that emulating the eating habit is mandatory. It should be noted that this thought is not based upon any scientific discovery. The argument has not specified whether this finding was published in a peer-reviewed well cited journal like Lancet. If it quoted any renowned scientist, the argument would be more reliable. Therefore, the argument is not strong enough as it is only based upon an assumed cause and effect.

Secondly, the argument, although mentioned some thoughts on human physiology, it has not specified what it understood by the term. Notwithstanding it has been concluded that ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don't. Moreover, the comparison between the works done by the ancestors and modern scientist has not been presented in a rigorous manner. We all know that there has been significant improvement in modern science which brought us prosperity even in health terms. Which specific topics our modern scientists don't know and to what extent, this has not been specified. Therefore, the argument is based upon vague terms that made it rather weak.

Thirdly, anecdotal evidence has been mentioned as the proof of relationship between consuming bone broth and metabolic efficacy. However, we cannot make a conclusion based on this since the "anecdotal evidence" is not sufficient for medical science. A randomized control trial experiment could be run between a treatment group and a control group to see the effect of bone broth on human prevention power. Strong data analysis is needed for drawing this conclusion that emulating the dietary practice of ancient human will lead us to prevent chronic illness.

Finally, it should be remembered that human has evolved in a number of stages. Therefore, we cannot compare between the ancient human who lived between 2000 B.C. to 3000 B.C. with people of twenty first century. The metabolic system and human physiological system has been evolved in a way that the comparison of such manner would be a comparison of completely two different things.

In conclusion, the argument failed to show a proper scientific evidence, it suffers from lack of analysis, it is comparing between the people two completely different time and it is based upon some vague terms which it did not explain properly. Therefore, I do not support the argument as it is based upon unproven assumptions.