An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

The author of the argument wants to make a claim that the fragrance of lavender flowers can cure insomnia if the sufferers can give it a some time. However, the argument is based on a number of faulty assumptions such as not selecting a random sample for testing the hypothesis, omitting the possibility of having heterogeneity among the volunteers, assuming the scent of lavender as the principal cause of sleep and using vague language to reach a very strong conclusion. Therefore, the author could not make a cogent case for this argument and the argument is not convincing as it stands.

Firstly, the argument is based upon only a set of 30 volunteers suffering from chronic insomnia. It should be noted that in academic studies like this, one must have to select random samples by explaining the methodology of fetching those. While for reaching conclusion in such sensitive cases, the sample should be representative, there is no evidence that the sample was collected by following proper scientific procedure. Therefore, the argument is flawed and based upon a survey that cannot be accepted.

Secondly, the argument has said that they electronically monitored the sleep cycle of the patients of “chronic-insomnia”. This testing is based upon a faulty assumption that all the volunteers had similar reasons behind their situation. Even if the volunteers are collected in a scientific way, however, the author failed to demonstrate the heterogeneity of characterization of the selected sample. If there is no heterogeneity among the people, the case cannot be made. If the author could show us that he had picked up the volunteers having different reasons behind being insomniac, the case would be more plausible. As it is not clear from the passage, the argument remains very weak.

Thirdly, it has been stated that the sufferers could sleep in a sound manner after two long weeks. When it is evident that the patients had gone through several physiological changes after having medication and not having it in the following week, there might be other reasons which caused the long and sound sleep. Reasons behind omitting the cases for other plausible variables have not been described. If the argument could show us that the other responsible reasons such as not having any responsibility in a controlled and made-up environment which is not possible in real life, has no contribution in this study, the case would be more convincing.

Finally, the argument is based on some vague languages. It has used the terms like “effective” sleep, “longer” sleep and “less” tired. The question remains that what is meant by these quoted terms. Even though it is said that the sleep was monitored electronically, it is obvious that these terms have person-wise varied definitions. If the author could explain the universally accepted definitions of these terms, the argument would be more convincing. As it is not evident from the argument, we have to refuse the argument.

In conclusion, not having any scientific random sample, lack of having heterogenous set of volunteers, showing assumed cause behind a strong conclusion and using languages which can be explained in many ways have made this argument unconvincing. Therefore, I cannot agree with the author’s statement.