Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The given argument has several assumptions which makes it flawed. The main assumption that it makes is that, the food taken by our ancestors might also keep us healthier. The type of diet that worked two or three generations might not prove to be healthier for the current generation.

In today's world people are constantly running and hardly find any extra time. But the argument says that the soup is made from cooking animal bone for several hours which will prove time-consuming for many. Also the argument is vague on how to cook such soups.

The argument states that Paleo diets have many healthy benefits but doesn't support this claim with evidence. It is also does not specify the type of animal's bone that is required for this diet. For all that we know this required animal might have even gone extinct. New evidence might also rise showing that ingesting cartilage might impair our brains and hence proving the skeptics right.

The only evidence provided by the argument is said to be anecdotal and hence cannot be relied on. It is also not specified the type of people from which this evidence was collected as these people might have already been hale and healthy before they started consuming bone broth. The parting sentence again assumes that ancient humans and the current generation people do not differ.

Thus, the argument makes fallacious assumptions with lack of evidence supporting it. So further evidence is required to make a claim that Paleo diets are indeed healthy to the current generation of humanity.