Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

In today's world, people always follow someone's footsteps or are performing their duties assigned to them. But people do this only if they revere the person they are following. The respect given by the leader's peers is more significant than the decisions made by the same leader.

A person might be able to express his or her leadership skills only when their peer group can respect them and their judgements. Lack of respect towards the leader, however revolutionary their ideas maybe, will ultimately result in a poor cohesion among the group. Consider the example of life of Gandhi. His teachings and principles were something that provided the much-needed foundation for the people's freedom. But Gandhi first earned the respect of his people before teaching his principles for the cause of freedom fighting. This is because he knew that people will only respect his feelings as long as they respect him.

However maverick a person might be, without his veneration towards them, his actions will have no or negative consequence towards the group's goal. A project manager might relegate work to his subordinates in an efficient manner. But the subordinates, looking at the manager with disrespect, will start shirking from their duties or perform them in a perfunctory manner. The result of this project will be unsatisfactory even though the team was capable of performing it with much ease.

One might say that, if the leader forces their judgements on their peers, they will perform their duties just as it is required. But we can clearly feel that this type of leadership won't last and will end up in a contentious manner. Only when the leader earns his respect will he able to make his peers perform from their duties.

Earning of the respect of the peers is as equal as that of making sound decisions. Without the respect of the group, however skilled a leader might be, will only fail to achieve their end goal.